NOTE: View the New Admin Experience version of this article.
You can manage the default privacy settings for your users on the Privacy Defaults page, located in the Admin interface.
How to access the Privacy Defaults page
- Click Admin in the Webmaster Links menu.
- Click Admin.
- Select Privacy Defaults from the Users > Profile menu.
How to manage default privacy settings
From here, you can set the default privacy setting for each item available on your site's profiles (e.g., name, email address, etc.). However, each user can override these defaults by setting their own privacy preferences on their Profile > My Account > Privacy Settings page (refer to the Privacy Settings section of the Manage Your Inbox & Account Preferences page for more information).
On this page:
- This column lists your available profile items.
- You can enable/disable each item by toggling them On/Off (disabled items won't appear on user profiles).
- Set the default privacy setting for each item to one of four options:
- My Contacts - Only a user's contacts can view the item.
- Members Only - Only members of your site can view the item.
- Public - ALL users can view the item, even those who aren't members of your site.
- Nobody - Only the user can view the item.
- Arrange items in the desired order (this does NOT affect their order on profile pages, only this page).
NOTE: If you add new profile items on the Demographics page, be sure to set your desired preferences for them here. See Profile Demographics to learn more about managing Demographics.