As an administrator, you can perform a number of actions to manage the posts users add to your community discussions, including editing, pinning, promoting, moderating, and deleting them. These management tools ensure you have complete control over the content posted in your discussions.
To edit one of your posts (or those of other users, if you're an admin), simply navigate to it and select Edit from the menu.
If you'd like more control over the content being posted to a Discussion, you can enable moderation to have all new messages placed in a queue requiring admin approval before it's viewable by others.
See Moderate Discussions & Libraries to learn more about moderation and how to enable it.
If the community is set to Self Moderation, you'll see an option to mark a post as inappropriate; this places the post in the moderation queue where an admin can decide whether to approve the moderation request to keep it in moderation or reject it to add it back to the discussion.
While every post in a thread can be deleted, not every post can be deleted immediately. Only the latest reply to a post can be deleted at any given time; this means if you want to remove the original post in a thread comprising four replies, you must delete each of them in order, from the latest on up.
NOTE: There is some nuance to this logic, depending on whether users reply to the original post or its subsequent replies. If the Delete option is not available for the post you want to delete, take a moment to analyze the flow of replies in the thread.
To delete a post, select Delete (permanently) from its actions menu. Then, click Yes in the confirmation pop-up.
NOTE: Deleting a post is different than removing one: While removing a post leaves a visual record of it in the thread, deleting a post permanently removes it from the system.
To remove a post, navigate to it and select Remove from the menu. Then, click Yes in the confirmation pop-up.
NOTE: Removing a post is different than deleting one: The post remains in the thread structure but its content is removed and replaced with the default text "This post was removed." Additionally, all reference to the author is sanitized.
WARNING: Removing an original thread is the same as deleting it: It will be permanently deleted. The remove functionality is only applicable to replies to a thread or post.
Make Best Answer
When someone starts a thread asking a question, there's generally a reply that offers the best answer. While disabled by default, Super Admins can enable the Best Answer feature, which enables Super Admins, Community Admins, and the thread's original poster to mark a reply in a discussion as the Best Answer by selecting Make Best Answer from a post's menu.
NOTE: You can clear a best answer post at any time by selecting Clear Best Answer from the menu. Only one post can be flagged as the Best Answer at a time.
The post is then visually highlighted to indicate this, ensuring other users know.
In addition, threads with a reply marked as the Best Answer include a Jump To Best Answer link at the top right, making it easy for users to quickly see the best content.
Pin a post
Within a given thread, there's often a post that holds significant importance. In these instances, you'll likely want to ensure it's not overlooked by your readers, especially in large threads with dozens of posts. The best way to do this is to flag it with the Pin post to top feature, available in the post's actions menu.
NOTE: Pinned posts are marked with a pin. You can unpin a post at any time by selecting Unpin this post from the menu.
What does pinning a post do?
The main thing to understand is that pinning a post does NOT display it at the top of the discussion thread, but rather it's added to the Featured Post widget, available on your community's Home page, as shown below. This enables you single out important posts to highlight to your members.
NOTE: While you can pin more than one discussion post, the Featured Post widget only displays one post at a time, and only the latest pinned post. For example, let's say you pinned post X on Monday, and then post Y on Tuesday; post Y will replace post X in the widget, even though post X is still pinned. In this scenario, if you unpin post Y, post X will once again display.