To manage a community's configuration settings:
NOTE: These steps describe how to manage communities created on the Higher Logic platform, not those managed in an integrated AMS/CRM.
- From the community's Home page, click Settings.
- Click Settings in the resulting menu.
- The resulting page lists the available configuration settings. View the table below for descriptions of each one.
|Name||The community's name, which is displayed both on the community's Home page and on the All Communities page.|
Here, you can update the community's Community Type, which determines a few default settings and the features you'll be able to enable in the Features area below.
NOTE: See Manage Community Types to learn more.
Enter a community description, purpose, or mission statement.
This information displays on the All Communities page, and is generally used to give users general information about the community.
Toggle to Yes/No to set whether this community is a Topic Community.
Topic Communities are special communities where all content, upon creation, must be flagged with unique Topic Tags (created by Super Admins). This ensures all content belongs to organizational-approved categories, which, in turn, makes all Topic Community content easily searchable and consumable by users interested in specific topics.
See Topic Communities to learn more.
|Who can join?||
Sets the community's join permissions:
NOTE: Communities a user can view but not join are indicated with a locked icon.
|Who can view?||
Sets the community's view permissions on the All Communities page, allowing you to hide specific communities from specific groups of users:
NOTE: This setting does NOT control who can view a community's content, just its visibility on the All Communities page.
These options let you control whether user-created content (discussion posts, blog posts, ideation posts, and library entries) has to be approved before being available in the community.
NOTE: A community discussion's Moderation setting is automatically applied to its associated library. For example, if set to Full Moderation, all uploaded files must be approved before they're available.
NOTE: See Manage a Community's Moderation Queue to learn more.
If enabled, members of this community can invite others to join by selecting Invite Others to Join from the Settings menu on the community's Home page (the Settings menu is located to the right of the community's title at the top of the Home page).
Check the boxes to control which features the community has available:
NOTE: The features available here are determined by the Community Type selected above (in the Type field). For example, if the Community Type doesn't allow Discussions and Microsites, these two features won't appear in the list. See Manage Community Types to learn more.
NOTE: Depending on the community's content and the optional modules your organization licenses, you may see other features listed here, like Blog, Announcements, Workspace, and Volunteer Opportunities.
NOTE: If the community has any of these features, you can remove them by clicking their Delete button. Keep in mind doing so removes all of their associated content.
Any tags added to the community are listed here: Add any new tags you want or remove tags by clicking their X button.
Any tags applied appear on the All Communities page, giving users more insight into the community's purpose and intended audience. Users can also click these tags to view any content in the community tagged with it, making them an excellent way of organizing community content and making it easy to find.
- Once you're finished updating the community, click:
- Save and Invite Members to save your changes and invite people to join the community.
- Save to simply save your changes.