To manage a community's general settings:
NOTE: These steps describe how to manage communities created on the Higher Logic platform, not those managed in an integrated AMS/CRM.
- From the community's Home page, click Settings.
- Click Settings in the resulting menu.
- Update the fields.
|Name||The community's name, displayed both on the community's Home page and on the All Communities page.|
Here, you can update the community's Community Type, which determines a few default settings and the features you'll be able to enable in the Features area below.
NOTE: Refer to the Manage Community Types page for more information.
The community's description, purpose, or mission statement.
This information displays on the All Communities page, and is generally used to give users general information about the community.
NOTE: This option is only available if you license Higher Logic's optional Nested Communities module.
Toggle this to YES to make this community a Topic Community.
See Personalization - Topic Communities to learn more about Topic Communities and Higher Logic's Personalization feature.
|Who can join?||
Sets the community's join permissions:
NOTE: Communities a user can view but not join are indicated with a locked icon.
|Who can view?||
Sets the community's view permissions on the All Communities page, allowing you to hide specific communities from specific groups of users:
NOTE: This setting does NOT control who can view a community's content, just its visibility on the All Communities page.
If enabled, members of this community can invite others to join by selecting Invite Others to Join from the Settings menu on the community's Home page (the Settings menu is located to the right of the community's title at the top of the Home page).
Check the boxes to control which features the community has available:
NOTE: The features available here are determined by the Community Type selected above (in the Type field). For example, if the Community Type doesn't allow Discussions and Microsites, these two features won't appear in the list. Refer to the Manage Community Types page for more information.
NOTE: Depending on the community's content and the optional modules your organization licenses, you may see other features listed here, like Blog, Announcements, Workspace, and Volunteer Opportunities.
NOTE: If the community has any of these features, you can remove them by clicking their Delete button. Keep in mind doing so removes all of their associated content.
Any tags added to the community are listed here: Add any new tags you want or remove tags by clicking their X button.
Any tags applied appear on the All Communities page, giving users more insight into the community's purpose and intended audience. Users can also click these tags to view any content in the community tagged with it, making them an excellent way of organizing community content and making it easy to find.
- Once you're finished updating the community, click:
- Save and Invite Members to save your changes and invite people to join the community.
- Save to simply save your changes.