This article describes how to delete a Higher Logic-managed community.
NOTE: You cannot delete AMS-managed communities using this process. To hide and archive AMS-managed communities, see Hiding and Archiving Communities.
Before you delete a community
IMPORTANT: Deleting a community is an irrevocable action; it cannot be undone.
Prior to deleting a community, Higher Logic recommends that you determine if this is really what you want to do. Have you considered the alternatives of hiding or archiving the community?
If you haven't already, see Hiding and Archiving Communities to review the impacts of hiding and archiving a community.
All of the content in a community must be removed (either deleted or moved) before you can delete the community.
- If you want to preserve the community's content, you can move it to another community (via the Community > Discussions > Move Threads page), as described in Move Discussion Threads.
Delete a community
To delete a community after removing all of its content:
- On the community's Home page, click Settings.
- Click Settings in the menu that pops up.
- Click the red Delete button next to each community module in the Features section to remove the content.
- Click the red Delete button at the bottom to delete the community.
NOTE: All current community members lose their membership and the community longer appears on the All Communities list or on a member's My Communities list in their profile.